BREAKING: EC Announces Election Dates of Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh at 3:00 PM Today

New Delhi: The Election Commission (EC) announces the Election Schedule for Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh on Friday 3pm in Vigyan Bhawan, Delhi. The EC has convened a press conference today and is likely to provide a briefing on the election polls in the two states.

However, the polling station has not disclosed the reason for the press conference in Vigyan Bhavan, but the election schedule of the two states is expected to be released. Meanwhile, Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar and Election Commissioner Anup Chandra Pandey recently visited the two states to take stock of election preparations.

On the one hand, the BJP has kicked off the election campaigns in both states with Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Interior Minister Amit Shah holding rallies in the states. On the other hand, Congress is all set to start its election campaign in Himachal Pradesh where the party’s secretary general Priyanka Gandhi Vadra will hold a maha rally “Parivartan Pratigya Rally” in the Solan district of Himachal Pradesh . Aside from the arch-rival parties, the Aam Aadmi party has also stepped into the election campaign by holding extensive rallies in the states. After a massive victory in Punjab, the party is looking to spread its wings to other parts of the country.

Also read: Priyanka Gandhi Vadra launches Congress poll campaign in Himachal Pradesh . today

The term of the Gujarat assembly ends on February 18 next year while that of Himachal Pradesh is on January 8, 2023.

In the 182-seat Gujarat assembly, there are currently 111 BJP and 62 congressional MLAs. The 14th Legislative Assembly election of Gujarat was held on December 9 and 14 in 2017 to elect the members of the Legislative Assembly (MLA). The votes were counted on December 18. The incumbent Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) gained a simple majority with an increase in the vote share in the last election.

Despite a decline in the number of seats, the BJP maintained its simple majority in the house and formed a government for the sixth time. In the results declared for all 182-seated Gujarat assemblies, BJP won 99 seats, Congress won 77.1 seats, 1 seat was won by NCP, while Bhartiya Tribal Party and Independent candidate won 2 and 3 seats respectively.

Himachal Pradesh voted for election to its Legislative Assembly on 9 November 2017. In the election of the 68-member Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) defeated the Congress Party and won 44 seats, while the Congress won just 21 seats in 2017. present, in the Legislative Assembly of Himachal Pradesh, the BJP has 45 MLAs while the Congress has 22 and the CPIM has 1 MLA.

Source link
Zee News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post Mahindra offers BIG discounts of up to Rs 2 lakh on 2022 Scorpio Classic, Alturas G4 SUV and more
Next post Unique baby boy and girl names hidden in Hanuman Chalisa – see full list and select a name for your child