EC freezes Shiv Sena’s ‘bow and arrow’ symbol amid rift between Uddhav, Shinde camps

New Delhi: The Election Commission on Saturday (October 8, 2022) froze the Shiv Sena symbol amid the battle between the Uddhav Thackeray faction and the Eknath Shinde camp. The polling station approved an interim order, stating that neither group may use the bow and arrow symbol, reserved for ‘Shiv Sena’.

Following the order, neither the ruling Eknath Shinde government nor the Uddhav Thackeray camp will now be able to use the ‘bow and arrow’ bearing symbol in Andheri East bye polls.

Pursuant to the order of the EC, both factions will be assigned as different poll symbols as they can choose from the list of free symbols communicated by the poll watchdog in view of the ongoing midterm elections.

“Both groups will also be assigned the various symbols that they can choose from the list of free symbols published by the Election Commission in view of the current by-elections. Accordingly, both groups are hereby instructed not later than 1:00 p.m. on the 10th October,” EC said in an injunction.

The Commission can assign the name and symbol to both factions from the options submitted. The interim order came on Saturday at the request of the Shinde faction to get the symbol as the Andheri East meeting bypoll approaches.

Uddhav Thackeray faction calls for EC order over ‘injustice’ symbol

Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena called the EC’s order to ban the party’s rival factions from using the party name and election symbol in the Andheri East meeting as “injustice”.

The polling station should have made a decision in a holistic manner rather than an interim bypoll decision, said Ambadas Danve, leader of the opposition in the Maharashtra Legislative Council who is loyal to the Thackeray group. “This is injustice,” he told PTI.

Source link
Zee News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post AIFF secures development path after U-17 FIFA Women’s World Cup
Next post Shardul Thakur expresses disappointment at missing out on India’s T20 World Cup squad