Foreign Minister S. Jaishankar Names His Favorite New Zealand Cricket Player

New Delhi: Foreign Minister S. Jaishankar on Sunday inaugurated India’s new High Chancellery Commission in New Zealand’s capital Wellington, saying that coordinating each other’s capacities is a wiser way to further the vital ties between India and New Zealand. deepen.

Jaishankar, who is on his first official visit to New Zealand as Foreign Secretary, also praised the bilateral cricket ties between India and New Zealand and said India will always be grateful to John Wright and Stephen Fleming, who hail from New Zealand. for their contribution to the development of sport in the country.

Jaishankar said the cooperation between the two countries on the cricket pitch is a shining example for other countries.

“When we think about New Zealand, so much comes to mind and I keep myself under control. I would say that cricket itself is a good example of our cooperation,” Foreign Minister S Jaishankar said by ANI. .

“So no one is serious in India about cricket but they will never forget John Wright or anyone who watches IPL and my origins are in Chennai would forget Stephen Fleming and I would say the New Zealander best known to Indians Williamson would be. We like him most of the time except when he’s playing against us. My personal favorite New Zealand cricketer is Ross Taylor, but that’s another matter,” said S Jaishankar.

Wright was the first foreign coach of the Indian team and coached the Indian cricket team from 2000 to 2005. Under his leadership, the Indian team reached the final of the 2003 ODI World Cup. Wright was also the head coach of Mumbai Indians in IPL in 2013 and under his mentorship made the IPL franchise IPL champions for the first time. He later worked at MI for another seven years.

Stephen Fleming, the most successful coach in IPL history, played for Chennai Super Kings in 2008 following his retirement from international cricket. He then remained the coach and player of CSK from 2009. In the first six years under Fleming, CSK won two IPL titles and became runner-up twice. After a two-year suspension, he made CSK the IPL champions again in 2018 and 2021.

Source link
ABP News Bureau

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post Nayanthara and Vignesh Shivan Call Their Twin Boys ‘Uyir & Ulagam’, Here’s What They Mean
Next post ‘Abusing me, my sister…’: Tej Pratap accuses general secretary Shyam Rajak, storms out of RJD meeting