Jay Shah to remain BCCI Secy, Roger Binny to replace Sourav Ganguly: Report

Ahead of the nominations to be submitted for the post of Office-holder of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), there is much speculation that current BCCI Secretary Jay Shah will remain in his post while Sourav Ganguly will hold his office as BCCI president will have to resign.

Former Indian cricketer Roger Binny is being tipped to become BCCI president to replace Sourav Ganguly and Maharashtra BJP MLA Ashish Shelar is considered a favorite to become the BCCI treasurer post replacing Arun Dhumal, ANI reported citing sources. In the middle, Jay Shah is expected to hold office.

Shah will also replace Ganguly as India’s representative to the all-powerful ICC council, PTI reported. Rajeev Shukla will continue as Vice President of BCCI, while the younger brother of Sports Minister Anurag Thakur, Arun Singh Dhumal, will become IPL Chairman. He will replace Brijesh Patel.

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma’s close associate Devajit Saikia will replace Jayesh George as the new joint secretary, PTI reported.

Sourav Ganguly, who was elevated to the position of BCCI president in 2019, if not given the chance to hold office for a second term, may come as a surprise to some as BCCI contacted the Supreme Court to amend the constitution change to ease the cooling off period. It was believed that the move is intended to aid the smooth re-election of Ganguly and Shah to their existing BCCI posts.

Roger Binny has served as the senior men’s national team selector in the past and was on the panel when the roster for the 2015 World Cup was chosen. Binny, who played an integral part in India’s 1983 World Cup triumph, played 27 Tests and 72 ODIs for India between 1979 and 1987.

The BCCI AGM will take place on October 18, while nominations for office holders can be submitted on October 11 and 12. The nomination check will take place on October 13 and the candidates can withdraw their nominations by October 14 at the latest.

The election is held for top positions of BCCI: President, Vice-President, Secretary, Jt Secretary, Treasurer and IPL President.

(With input from agencies)

Source link
ABP News Bureau

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post Karwa Chauth 2022 : Latest Mehendi Designs You Can Choose – Check Options
Next post Amit Shah, Yogi Adityanath unveil life-size statue of Jayaprakash Narayanan in Sitab Diara village in Bihar