King Charles III to be crowned in May 2023, Buckingham Palace announces

LONDON: Britain’s King Charles III will be crowned next May at London’s Westminster Abbey in a ceremony that will follow the traditional pageantry used for the past 1,000 years to anoint monarchs, Buckingham Palace announced on Tuesday.

Charles, 73, automatically became king last month after the death of his mother Queen Elizabeth, but the grand coronation ceremony for him and his wife Camilla, who will be crowned queen, will now take place on Saturday, May 6.

“The coronation will reflect the monarch’s role today and look to the future while rooted in longstanding traditions and pageantry,” the palace said in a statement.

The ceremony, a solemn and religious event to be performed by the Archbishop of Canterbury, the spiritual head of the Anglican Communion, usually comes several months after the accession of the new monarch.

Kings and queens of England, and later Great Britain and the United Kingdom, have been crowned at Westminster Abbey since William the Conqueror in 1066.
Charles is the 41st monarch in a lineage going back to William, and he will be the oldest monarch to be crowned.

His mother, who died in her Scottish holiday home at the age of 96, holds the record for the longest reign of 70 years.

British media have reported that Charles wants to reduce some of the usual grandeur surrounding the coronation, aware that this would come as the country grapples with a crisis in the cost of living.

The palace said it would preserve the “core elements” of the traditional ceremony “while recognizing the spirit of our times”.

Elizabeth’s coronation as queen on June 2, 1953 was the first televised and was considered a milestone in the modernization of the monarchy, a step her husband Prince Philip is said to have pushed.

The abbey, whose royal ties are extensive, was the setting for Elizabeth’s funeral service and it was also where Charles’ son and now heir, Prince William, married his wife Kate.

Charles is king and head of state not only of the United Kingdom, but of 14 other realms, including Australia, Canada, Jamaica, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea.

Source link
Zee News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post Shah Rukh Khan Shares a Special Message on Big B’s Birthday Revealing He Learned ‘Never Leave Him Again’- Watch
Next post Bigg Boss 16, Day 9 Updates: Sreejita calls Gauri ‘uncivilized’, MC Stan hates ‘group stupidity’!