Russian Putin signs laws annexing 4 Ukraine regions, completing move

Russian President Vladimir Putin signed laws on Wednesday that will include four Ukrainian regions in Russia. The move completes the annexation of regions into Russia in violation of international law.

Both houses of the Russian parliament have also ratified the treaties to include the Ukrainian regions in Russia. The four regions are Donetsk, Luhansk, Kherson and Zaporizhzhya.

Read more: Ukraine reports rapid push back of Russian troops in south, east

The move by the Russian parliament and Vladimir Putin followed Kremlin-backed “referendums” in regions rejected as shams by Ukraine and the West.

Earlier today, Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky said Kiev’s military has made large and rapid advances against Moscow’s forces over the past week. Ukraine has taken back dozens of cities in the south and east that Russia has declared annexed.

“This week alone, since the Russian pseudo-referendum, dozens of population centers have been liberated. These are all located in the Kherson, Kharkov, Luhansk and Donetsk regions,” Zelensky said.

Russian forces in the Donetsk and Kherson regions have been forced to withdraw and grapple with the increasingly Western-equipped Ukrainian army.

“In some parts of the front line, it was possible to extend the area we occupied from 10 to 20 km,” the Southern Operational Command of the Ukrainian Armed Forces (UAF) said on Wednesday.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post Dussehra 2022: Top 5 SUVs to buy in India under Rs 10 lakh – Maruti Suzuki Brezza, Tata Nexon and more
Next post Ramayan’s Sita aka Dipika Chikhlia on Adipurush controversy: If the character is from Lanka, it shouldn’t look like Mughals’