Women’s IPL will be held in March with 5 teams and 5 foreign players in XI

The opening edition of Women’s IPL will witness five teams and the highly anticipated event will take place in March 2023. According to the BCCI note obtained by PTI, the tournament will feature 20 league matches. Each team will compete against each other twice. Whoever tops the table gets a straight ticket into the final, while the second and third place teams go down the hook in the Eliminator.

All teams have been instructed to add no more than five foreign cricketers to the playing eleven.

“In order to have a good balance between national and international players and to have competitive teams, it has been decided for the time being to have five teams for WIPL. Each team can have a maximum of eighteen players, while no team can have more than six foreign players. to have.

“Furthermore, no more than five foreign players — four of the full members of the ICC and one of the associate members of the ICC — may be part of each team’s playing XI,” the BCCI memorandum reads.

The Australian Big Bash League and The Hundred in the UK have a maximum of three foreign players and a team size of 15.

The marquee will likely be shortly after the Women’s. are held World Cup T20 in South Africa from February 9-26.

“Like IPL, it will be challenging to play in the home-away format in WIPL as with five to six teams it is not possible to have a match every day. It is suggested that the tournament can be played caravan style, then ending ten games at one location, the next ten games played at the next location.

The note also stated, “Therefore, ten games each will be played in two venues in the 2023 WIPL season, ten each in the next two venues in the 2024 season, and ten games each in the remaining one venue and the remaining two venues for the 2025 season. ten in one of the locations from season 2023.”

“Alternatively, teams can be sold in WIPL and matches can take place in a location where IPL matches are currently being held.”

Source link
ABP News Bureau

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post TS EAMCET 2022 seat allocation result will be released on October 16 on tseamcet.nic.in
Next post Angel Di Maria out until early November due to hamstring injury